The RTBG is a state government statutory organisation, governed by the Royal Tasmanian Botanical Gardens Act 2002 and administered by the Department of Primary Industries, Parks, Water and Environment (DPIPWE).

A Board appointed by the Minister manages the RTBG under the Act. These members include:

  • Ms Beth Mathison (Chair)
  • Mr Douglas Davey (Member)
  • Ms Jo Bailey (Member)
  • Ms Therese Taylor (Member)
  • Mr Paul Oxley (Member)
  • Mr. Tim Baker (Member – DPIPWE)

The current business model provides for an annual state government grant supporting the management of the Gardens.